CCRWC award honorees for 2014

2014 Annual Awards Presentation

(Pictured L to R) Hickey, Dendy, Morgan, Bell and Theiler. Photo by Bette Tempest

[See photo album]

Billie Dendy, who served as CCRWC’s ways and means chair last year, received the Mary Aven Award. This award, named in honor of Aven, a CCRWC charter member, recognizes a member who best exemplifies the Republican philosophy by her long, faithful, and unquestionable service to both the CCRWC and the Republican Party.

Barbara Hickey, who served as CCRWC’s president-elect in 2013, was awarded with the Millie Rogers Leadership Award. This award, named in honor of Millie Rogers, former CCRWC and GFRW president, recognizes a woman who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, deep devotion, and dedication to CCRWC, GFRW, and the community.

Janet Bell, CCRWC’s 2013 president, was recognized with the Woman of the Year Award. This award honors Lee Ague Miller (founder of the CCRWC) and recognizes the woman who has made the most outstanding contribution to the Republican Party through her work in CCRWC and the Republican Party.

Barry Morgan, Cobb County Solicitor General, earned the Trumpet Award. This award honors a CCRWC member or associate member who has held elected office in the award year representing the citizens of Cobb County. Morgan was selected for best exemplifying the Republican philosophy by strong leadership in his official capacity, and for unquestionable support of CCRWC and outstanding service to Cobb County citizens.

Cindy Theiler, who served as publications/electronic communications co-chair and editor of CCRWC’s newsletter in 2013, was honored with the Sue P. Everhart award. This award, named in honor of 2000 CCRWC President Sue Everhart, is given to a CCRWC new member who has been most involved in the first two or three years of becoming a CCRWC voting member and has volunteered an exceptional number of hours to the CCRWC, the Georgia Federation of Republican Women, Republican candidates, and/or the Republican Party.

Those who received certificates for these awards were:
Mary Aven Award:
Janet Bell, Dee Gary, Helen Story, and Rose Wing
Woman of the Year Award:
Donna Rowe
Millie Rogers Award:
Sheila Brower and Rosan Hall

2014 Executive installation

(Pictured L to R) Staley is shown swearing in Hickey, Hall, Story, Dendy, Sherk and Bell. Photo by Connie Bullock

In addition, new officers for 2014 were sworn in by Cobb County Superior Court Judge Mary Staley. This year’s officers are:

  • Barbara Hickey, president
  • Rosan Hall, president-elect
  • Helen Story, vice president
  • Janis Walling, recording secretary
  • Chris Waldman, corresponding secretary
  • Billie Dendy, treasurer
  • Kim Sherk, assistant treasurer
  • Janet Bell, past president

Congratulations to our new officers and award winners!

See photo album.

Comments are closed.